Information and Communications Standards

The AODA’s Information and Communications Standards were adopted in 2011.

Accessible Formats and Communication Supports

Upon request, organizations must provide documents in an accessible format and communication supports at no extra cost.

Public safety and emergency procedure information must also be accessible.


Organizations must ensure that their websites meet accessibility requirements. Government ministries had to meet the requirements of the World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 – Level AA by January 2016. Other public and private sector organizations with at least 50 employees must meet these requirements by January 2021.

Accessible websites
Accessible websites
Educational and Training Institutions

Educational and training institutions must provide materials in an accessible format. They must also provide educators with accessibility training.

Braille books
Braille books

Libraries must provide accessible materials when they are available.

Click here to learn more about the AODA.